How to Build Monster Muscle

Aaron Taylor-Johnson was just another skinny actor until Kick-Ass 2 made him an action hero. Then Godzilla stomped in, and he pushed his training to a new level

“There’s one right there,” he said, pointing to a spot just above his hairline. “See it? That’s from when I was a kid. I was sliding down my mate’s banister and bashed my head open. And the other one …” His finger drifted to the back of his head. “I have no idea. So I must have been pretty paralytic. [That’s Britspeak for “drunk.”] I didn’t even know I had it until we started Godzilla and they cut my hair.”

Taylor-Johnson is married to Samantha Taylor-Johnson, who’s exactly twice his age, and they have four daughters. A movie star in his early 20s should be going to wild Hollywood parties, not facing the challenges of a growing family, right? “That’s bullshit,” he insists. “They’re not challenges. People are like, ‘Don’t you have to work really hard?’ And I’m like, ‘If you think it’s hard, you must be in a shit marriage.’ “

Leave a comment